Please and thank-you’s don’t hurt.

The majority of the time when I travel by train, I go first class. It’s not that expensive if you book it advance and it’s well worth the extra money. I’m actually sitting in first class on a train as I’m writing this, thus the inspiration behind this entry is revealed.

When in first class (and even when I’m not) there’s one thing I always make sure I do; say ‘please’ and ‘thank-you’. You constantly have people checking on you to make sure your journey is comfortable and checking if you need anything to eat or drink. I’m constantly amazed at some people who clearly think they’re above the level of those working on ye train and who tell them what they want, and ignore the hosts when they bring back their food or drink. No thank-you, often not even eye contact. And that’s not right.

I don’t care how much money you have or what you perceive your social status to be, saying please and thank-you really doesn’t require that much effort. Being nice goes a long way.

20120929-165134.jpg

Leave a Reply

