Where does our loan go?

If anybody actually has an answer as to the question of where our tuition fees go, I would love to hear it.

I pay just over £3500 a year for University. Anybody who started this year will have to pay just over £9000 a year. And I’m really interested to know where it goes. Obviously, some of it will go to pay the wages of our lecturers. That said, with near enough 200 people on my course, if we each paid the lecturers £1 for our one-hour lecture with them, that’d probably be much more than they’re used to. Even they don’t earn £200 an hour. Then there’s the upkeep of campuses and other University staff, but the same principle applies; with thousands of students all paying either £3500 or £9000 a year, that’s far more than any of that could cost.

Nothing is supplied to us – we’re left to get our own textbooks, pens and paper. We can use the Uni facilities, sure. But there’s only so much you can do with a library card, despite what Arthur might say.

Once that’s taken out of our student loans, there’s then accommodation rent and basic living costs such as bills and food to add on top. By the time that’s done, there’s actually very little left over for other stuff – I’ve worked out that I’ve got about £20 a week actual spending money once I’ve paid all of this. That’s barely a night out.

This entry was more of a disgruntled ramble about overly expensive tuition fees than an actual, structured point, but I’m allowed a rant every now and then. I’m not going to go into Politics, because a) I have no idea what I’m talking about, and b) I can spend hours slagging off David Cameron (who probably went to University back when it was free, yet has the nerve to now charge students £9000 a year) but it won’t get me anywhere. 

I’m just interested where it really goes. That’s all.

Leave a Reply

