Stand Up To Cancer

Oh, look. Another deep post on my blog. But don’t worry – this isn’t going to be a difficult read.

One in three of us will develop cancer at some time in our life. That’s a scary statistic, but even more so when you actually apply it to your own life. Before I moved away to University, during the week in my house there would be my mum, my brother and I. One of us is likely to get cancer. That’s scary. Now here at University, I live in a house with 5 other people. 2 of us are likely to develop cancer. I’m sure you’ve got situations similar to this where you can appreciate just how scary this statistic is.

But it doesn’t have to be.

Advances in finding a cure for cancer are happening all the time, and every penny you donate takes it closer.

Two years ago, my Grandad died from cancer. We watched him deteriorate before our eyes, and it was one of the most painful things I’ve ever had to watch. I was in a position where I couldn’t really show how difficult it was for me, because I felt that I had to be strong for everyone else around me. My mum. My Gran. My brother. And that sucks. It was possibly the hardest thing I’ve been through, but it doesn’t have to happen. Not anymore.

Donating even a little can help save lives – it might even save yours.

For too long, cancer has been something that people don’t talk about. A topic to avoid in everyday conversation. This needs to change. There are so many ways to raise money or donate, and every penny really does help.

One of the easiest ways to donate is to visit http://www.channel4.com/SU2C, where 100% of your donation goes to Stand Up To Cancer. Finding a cure really is so close, and you can be a part of that.

So donate £1. Donate £10. Hell, donate £100, because whatever you do will help to keep somebody alive.

Leave a Reply

