My dad is amazing.

I’m sure that a lot of people think their dad is awesome, but I’m so happy about what my dad did today that I feel the need to broadcast it on the internet.

Basically, I’m turning 20 on Monday. I’m not looking forward to being 20, because you sound properly adult then. I like being a teenager. But whatever, that’s a story for another time. Anyway, this is the first birthday I’ll have ever spent away from my family – I was going to go home this weekend to see my family, but I had to work. Today I had a seven-hour shift, which was… interesting.  I’ll be spending it with my friends which is great, but it’s not really the same.

Today, 2 hours before the end of my shift at work, my dad walks in.

He drove three hours, just so he could meet me after work and take me out for a meal (we went to Nandos) for my birthday because he wouldn’t see me on the actual day. He gave me some birthday presents afterwards, and then drove another three hour trip back. Like, he spent six hours driving today just so he could take me out for a birthday meal.

He’s awesome.

1 Comment

  1. As “someone else’s Dad” let me speak for yours because this is what he is thinking: ‘It’s a labour of love.’ The right thing to do is sometimes easy because love is involved. The diapers, the feeding, the drives..the drives, the help, the homework, the tough stuff, the payments, the advice, oh, and the drives. You just do it just because.

    And some day it will be your turn. It will not be a ‘chore’ but just ‘a part of it.’

Leave a Reply

