Rooftop of Africa

You might have guessed from my blog that I’m into travelling. The world’s amazing and I really want to see as much of it as I can during my time here! Which is why I’m particularly excited to be doing what I’m doing next year, and sharing this with you now.

On September 8th 2013, I’m flying to Kenya. And I’m climbing Mount Kilimanjaro.

This 19,000ft beast is going to take a lot of preparation, but it’s been on my bucket list since forever and I finally have the chance to do it, so I’m going to grab it with both hands! I’m doing it as part of Student Adventures, and I’m climbing for charity. The charity I chose to climb the mountain in aid of is the Meningitis Research Foundation, a foundation whose vision is a world free from Meningitis – a dreadful disease that can kill in under 4 hours if left untreated. The Foundation is focused on the prevention, detection and treatment of the disease, and it an absolutely wonderful cause.

I hope to raise a substantial amount of money to aid this charity – £2650.00 GBP to be exact.

I do not take a penny of this money.

I appreciate that many of you will have found this article from just scrolling through random web pages and stuff like that, but if you could find it in your heart to sponsor me just a few pounds, dollars, euros, etc, to climb this 5895m African giant and help a great charity, then please visit my MyRaising page at www.myraising.com/tristan-page/mksummit (opens in new tab). It would honestly mean the world to both me and my chosen charity.

Over the next few days, I’ll be sharing this link on my twitter and facebook accounts (both of which can be found on my ‘Contact Me’ page) and several other internet outlets, as well as trying to talk to my friends and family. As and when I’m able to, I will also give my own money to the charity to aid this – I’m not asking for you to give, whilst giving nothing myself.

Even if you can’t donate yourselves, I’d be so grateful if you could share the above link on your social network sites such as twitter, tumblr and facebook as it would raise awareness of the charity, as well as potentially raising money for them at the same time if people were to decide to donate.

Thank you so much for anything you can contribute, and I can’t wait to tackle this challenge!

Leave a Reply

