What in God’s name am I blogging about now.

Blog posts about religion are tragic, clichéd, and at most times unbearable. So it came as a surprise to me when I opened up this page about three minutes ago, needing to write something about it.

Somebody that I follow on twitter posted a link to an article written by New York Times author Penn Jillette, insisting people “Don’t Replace Religion; End It“. You can read the post by clicking here.

There are many people who walk around insisting God doesn’t exist, that there’s no heaven or hell, or meaning to life. They can talk for hours about science and, as Jillette wrote, issues of the origin of the likes of morality. Yet these people would get angry if anybody tried to do the same from the other point of view. There’s a well known atheist joke that goes like this – “Religion is like a penis. It’s fine to have one. It’s fine to be proud of it. But please don’t whip it out in public and start waving it around. And PLEASE don’t try to shove it down my children’s throats.”

American Billboard

American Billboard

I am Christian. I do believe in God. But I accept that other people might not have the same belief as me. I don’t actively encourage people to become religious, as I believe it’s a personal choice. I don’t agree with people who try and force it on other people – anyone from TV religion experts to those old guys who walk around in the street handing out leaflets about everybody else is going to hell. At the same time, I don’t feel that it’s okay for those who do not believe in any kind of religion to advertise its non-existence. People like Richard Dawkins, for example. A man who went to the extent of launching a public bus campaign with posters on the side of vehicles stating “There’s probably no God, so stop worrying and enjoy life.”

It is not okay for people to criticise Christian activists when they’re doing the exact same thing by trying to force people to believe that there is no such thing as God. I really don’t understand why people can’t just keep their opinions to themselves. As long as someone is comfortable with their belief, it shouldn’t matter what anybody else thinks.

In other words, people need to pipe the fuck down.

Leave a Reply

