It’s getting hot in here

I spent a little while trying to figure out what to blog about today. I’ve been neglecting my blog lately and figured I should try and update it a little more often, but it’s not always easy to think about what to write about. As if by magic, somebody on TV said “write what you know”. Which is fine, except the only thing I know right now is heat.

Lots and lots of heat.

One of the annoying things about living in the United Kingdom is that summer is generally one or two days a year where it hits a high of 26 degrees and everyone rushes to the beach and barbecues everything. Every year it happens, and every year everybody complains. This year has been different. We are currently in what must be about the sixth or seventh day of a heatwave. I’m sure to people who live on the continent or Africa or anywhere else would look at the 32 degrees it’s been today and laugh. But it’s killing me. I picked up a job over summer down here, and inside even with the air conditioning on, it was about 25 degrees. That’s not what you want when you’re working around hot coffee machines in what is essentially an oversized conservatory. Eughh.

At least we’re going to the beach tomorrow finally. I’m hoping that it won’t be insanely busy seeing as it’s a school day and people are at work – especially seeing as if you time it wrong, there’s about six inches of sand between the cliff and the water on this particular beach.

This perhaps hasn’t been the most interesting entry and will, I imagine, be one I look back on and think “did I really waste 5 minutes of my life writing this crap?” but the heat is pissing me off and writing about it distracted me from the fact that it’s midnight and I’m still sweating for a few minutes.

The end. Boom. Finito. Whatever.

Leave a Reply

